> Set up Sage 200 / Manage accounting periods

Manage accounting periods

This explains how to set up and maintain the accounting periods used by Sage 200.

By default, Sage 200 uses 12 period accounting. Default periods are not created for converted data or for future data (future data being year 3 onwards).

When you create a new company, you specify a start month and year for your current financial year. The system automatically creates 12 accounting periods. These periods correspond to the calendar months from the start month and year specified.

You can change the number of accounting periods, the start and end date, and the status of each period. For example, you might operate quarterly accounting, in which case you would set up four accounting periods.

Note: You cannot change your accounting periods once you have entered transactions.

You use the Accounting Period User Permissions to control which Sage 200 users can open, close and change the accounting periods.

Go to top